Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

warmsunhelps
Casual Contributor

ECT

Hello, 

I am supporting my magnificent daughter, who has experienced depression and anxiety for many years.  She has been receiving therapy and prescribed medications for about 4 years, diagnosed EDO, complex PTSD and BPD, ups and downs are cyclic and difficult to manage on meds.  

She lives interstate and her being hospitalised right now while COVID travel restricitions are in place, makes it feel very far away. And its so hard to find objective information about ECT which is the current treatment she is undergoing.

Currently almost halfway into 12 sessions, she is finding the memory loss and out of body - ness distressing.  It seems counter intuitive to undergo treatment that is producing more cortisol through distress and discomfort to have a therapeutic effect. It is difficult to get helpful advice from pdoc or staff.  Her recall is so inhibited she doesn't feel confident about making a decision to proceed or pause treatment.