Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Sharon99
Casual Contributor

Dissociative disorder

Hello, I am seeking support and advice.  Its my first time on this site. 

My daughter was 17 when she first experienced a dissociative episode. It was terrifying for all involved. She is now 19, she had 1 whole year of no episodes. This year she has had two. Sadly this impacts her ability to work and function and its hard to even describe this to those she works for. The first couple of days its like I need to help her shower, brush her hair, remind her to eat. She forgets simple everyday tasks. When she is well, she is the most independent young woman and has the kindest heart and incredible educator.  Im struggling to get her support that doesn't cost an absolute fortune and someone she can gel with that will encourage her to stay connected to get the ongoing support.  We don't fully understand how this has happened  and have not yet got a definitive diagnose.  I am struggling to know how to support her. Feeling so sad, her mum. 

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Dissociative disorder

Hi

I only just found this site tonight while searching ways to support my 18yr who's mental health is declining rapidly and I felt the need to join and respond when I read what u wrote