Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Krishna
Senior Contributor

Daughter catatonic

I'm really struggling keeping tears at bay these past days and just feel so bloody sad. Can't seem to find my mojo. Although my girl is no longer catatonic, her mental health is deteriorating once again and has become withdrawn, isolating herself and emotionally unresponsive. Is becoming very abrupt with the wonderful nurses looking after her and still refuses any contact with me. It was her dads birthday Boxing Day and he passed on the message to her through her nurse that all he wanted was for her to talk to me. Still an abrupt "no" was her reply. Our girl has been in hospital now since August and will remain there until a place becomes available at a more suitable hospital/rehab. This grief I'm feeling is simply overwhelming. Her team has recommended a Public Guardian be appointed to oversee her life decisions and finances as she is not communicating with us so therefore we can't help in that area either. Oh what a mess. I can feel her slipping further and further away from me and there's nothing I can do. How does one deal with the loss of a child when their still present. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading. 

20 REPLIES 20

Re: Daughter catatonic