Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Re: Self care by growing a garden

@Former-Member, the biggest challenge at this time of year will be that you're racing against the weather. Sunflowers are not very cold tolerant. Can you put the plants in a greenhouse or somewhere a bit protected from the cold? And maybe leave some in the care of family in the "big smoke", as our costal capital cities rarely get frost. (Assuming said family have green-ish thumbs.)

Hand pollinating may help too, with a fine paintbrush.

If it turns out that they're hybrids, you'll get mixed results, but you could save seeds from your favourites each year until you've got your very own "Mr. Darcy" strain. xx

Have finally called the tomatoes in the garden "finished". The ones in the greenhouse and under polycarb mini-tunnels are still looking OK, so I'll let them hang on a bit longer, but the out-in-the-open ones are definitely frost struck and done for.