Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Former-Member
Not applicable

Pets as therapy and for our wellbeing

Does anybody else have a pet whom they rely on for companionship, comfort and everyday unconditional love and acceptance?

Very briefly, I suffer from PTSD and have done for 20 years. I have only recently sought help for it though, after trying to 'hide the symptoms for 18 years'.  For the past year I have been undergoing Exposure Therapy and also EMDR therapy.  Currently on ADs and taking medication to help with ptsd-related sleep disturbances and nightmares.

When I was in a very low place recently I wrote this poem about my little dog Holly.

My Little Dog Holly

I'd been wanting a little dog, but my hubby said no ... way too much trouble.

Then I spotted you one day, in a car alongside mine.

You looked sad and dejected .... the way I felt.

You were just eight months old at the time.

A skinny underfed little girl you were.

As I peered into the window, your eyes looked intently into mine.

Emotional tears caused my vision to blur,

as I considered the unlikely possibility that our lives may entwine.

When your owner returned to the car ... we talked,

and I discovered that something was wrong.

It seems you weren't wanted,