Skip to main content Skip to main content

I’m looking for…

Home » Forums
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a support person interested in with a watering can and water drops graphic to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I'm a health professional interested in with a trellis and plant illustration to the right of it
Circle drop down menus with words I want to register for an event and two plant pots to the right of it
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Re: Boundary setting: Hints and quotes

Herimg you on the 'permission to walk away' @SJT63 

This is actually one of our boundaries but doesn't always work out very well. (Walking away is perceived a s rejection / not caring and /or me being angry).  

@Former-Member no he finds that almost impossible. I ask what I should have done differently, or what I can do to avoid it but he insists that I am wonderful and he doesn't want me to change. He says it's his fault and not mine, and I try to point out that it is no one's fault.

He does say that until he is in full flight there is a tiny corner of his brain that is still connected to reality and he tries really hard to stay connected... then can't. Mr Hyde takes over and he becomes a monster that he himself cannot recognise. He doesn't want to be that monster. He says he will try harder.

We both know that is way too simplistic. 

Hi @SJT63